Is Peanut Butter Gluten Free? User-agent: * Disallow: /wp-admin/ Allow: /wp-admin/admin-ajax.php Sitemap:

Is Peanut Butter Gluten free?

Is peanut butter gluten free

Is peanut butter gluten free?

(Most peanut butter is gluten-free in its natural form, but sometimes it is cross-contaminated with flavor and additives which could be gluten components and should be avoided if you are gluten allergic.)

Do you also belong to the population who strongly believe that gluten allergic individuals have very minimal food items by which they can bless their taste buds?

If yes, you’re wrong; there are ample amounts of food items that gluten allergic individuals can consume and fulfill their nutritional needs, and peanut butter is one of them.

Now the question arises, is peanut butter gluten free? You’ll get your answer further; keep going through the article.

Natural, gluten-free foods include peanuts, peanut flour, peanut oil, and peanut butter. Peanuts and products made out of them are gluten-free, and gluten allergic individuals can consume them.

The problem with gluten-containing peanut butter is the possibility of cross-contamination. Peanut butter comprises at least 90% peanuts and is flavored with sugar and salt.

‘Natural’ peanut butter is frequently made with only these three ingredients. Due to the lack of stabilizers in natural peanut butter, the peanut oil will separate and gather at the top of the container.

Many store-bought brands of peanut butter are gluten-free these days, and some brands may also be processed at facilities that also process wheat and other foods.

As a result, the amount of gluten-free peanut butter must be double-checked and certified.

Nutritional Value of Peanut Butter

If you have celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, or seek a gluten-free diet, gluten-free peanut butter is an excellent choice.

Why we’re discussing this much about peanut butter?
Does it possess any other quality apart from being gluten-free? Then the answer is yes, it is very nutritious and provides calories in a large amount.

It is one of the best healthy munchkin options; it is also recommended as a pre-post workout meal. Let’s take a deep dive into its nutritional value per 100gm.

Nutrients Value per 100 gm
Energy 588kcal
Total fat 50gm
Saturated fat 10gm
Cholesterol 0mg
Sodium 17mg
Potassium 649mg
Total carbs 20gm
Dietary Fiber 6gm
Sugar 9gm
Protein 25gm

Characteristics of Gluten free Product

Look for a gluten-free label on the jar to avoid gluten contamination in your peanut butter. The FDA regulates this mark, which guarantees that the product has no more than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, which is considered safe for gluten-sensitive or intolerant people.

You can also look for a gluten-free certified stamp, which indicates that a third-party agency has tested the peanut butter. The Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) seal guarantees that the item has no more than 10 parts per million of gluten, which are incredibly high regulations.

Apart from these two characteristics, the gluten-free product should contain any ingredients or derived products like rye, barley, and cross breeds.

Is all Peanut Butter Gluten Free?

Home-made peanut butter is gluten-free only if the ingredients are roasted peanut, honey/sugar, and a pinch of salt. Although all peanut butter products are naturally gluten-free, this does not mean that they are all safe to ingest.

Peanut butter can be found in various cookies, granola, cereal, and chocolate goods that aren’t always gluten-free. Aside from the potential of cross-contamination, some peanut butter versions contain gluten components, which you should avoid.

Processed and packaged peanut butter have additives and enhancers that sometimes boost the gluten content of peanut butter that gluten allergic individual cannot consume. So it is suggested to check the nutrition label before buying any food item from the market in the name of the gluten-free product.

Read More: 10 Best Gluten Free cereals

Can You Eat Peanut Butter with Celiac Disease?

Yes, only if it is prepared with these three ingredients, salt, and sugar/honey. Any additive or enhancer makes peanut butter unfit for consumption by a person with celiac disease.

How to Choose Gluten free Peanut butter?

Mindful purchasing will help you to get good quality peanut butter. Things you should look upon while buying gluten-free peanut butter.

• The pack should contain a label as” gluten-free.”
• It should be certified by a gluten-free certification organization.
• The ingredient list should contain only three ingredients: peanut, salt, & sugar.
• Ingredient lists should be avoided, including items like flavor enhancers, artificial colors, hydrogenated fats, oils, etc.

What is the Difference between Certified and Labeled Gluten Fee?


When a food product is labeled “gluten-free” without a certification sign, the food must comply with FDA gluten-free labeling guidelines.

That means there can’t be any gluten-containing substances in the food, and any trace amounts of wheat, barley, or rye (from common storage or manufacturing equipment, for example) must be less than 20 parts per million (ppm).

These regulations apply to all foods and supplements manufactured in the United States and those imported and sold in the country.

According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, celiac disease research reveals that most patients with celiac disease may tolerate trace levels of gluten up to 20 ppm; hence the FDA set a 20 ppm standard for gluten-free labeling.

The FDA allows but does not require food manufacturers to label gluten-free products. Manufacturers are not obligated to test for the presence of gluten in completed gluten-free food products, which is a massive deal for people with celiac disease.


When you see the “certified gluten-free” symbol on a food packaging, the producer has taken extra precautions to avoid gluten cross-contamination and that the food has been gluten-tested independently by a third party.

Because the FDA does not mandate manufacturers to test for gluten in finished food products, the only distinction between third-party gluten-free certification and gluten-free labeling is this.

There are a few organizations that provide gluten-free certification from a third party. Gluten-free foods will have a symbol on the package to indicate gluten-free.

Gluten-free certification must meet all of the FDA’s gluten-free labeling regulations at a minimum and may go further. The Gluten-Free Certification Organization administers the most prevalent gluten-free certification (GFCO).

Is Jif peanut Butter Gluten free?

“The vast majority of our peanut butter is certified gluten free,” according to the JIF website. For the most up-to-date information, look for the gluten-free claim on the back label of your jar.” While not all of their products are gluten-free, several peanut butters bear the gluten-free claim, indicating that they meet the FDA’s gluten-free labeling requirements.

The original creamy peanut butter, one of their most popular items, bears the gluten-free label and can be enjoyed by individuals who follow a gluten-free diet. The nutrition facts for this product are listed below.

Molasses [ dark colored sugar syrups obtained by refining sugarcane juice], Fully Hydrogenated Vegetable Oils (Rapeseed and Soybean oil), Mono and Diglycerides [ found in seed oils, cream, etc.] Salt, Roasted Peanuts, Total Sugar [Contains 2% or Less Molasses].

Is Skippy peanut Butter Gluten free?

There is a gluten-free label on the jar of the original Skippy Creamy Peanut Butter. Hormel Foods produces Skippy goods, and according to the Hormel Foods website, all Skippy products are gluten-free.

• Roasted Peanuts
• Sugar
• Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Cottonseed, Soybean, and Rapeseed Oil)
• Salt

Is Reese’s Peanut butter cups Gluten free?

According to Hershey’s gluten-free list, except for the seasonal shapes, all Reese’s peanut butter cups are gluten-free. So pass on those adorable heart-shaped, egg-shaped, tree-shaped, and other shaped peanut butter cups.

Is Peanut butter Captain crunch Gluten free?

No, roasted chunks of peanut butter captain crunch are not gluten-free. Cap’n Crunch cereal is prepared with regular oat flour, which could be gluten-contaminated.

That means Cap’n Crunch isn’t gluten-free and isn’t suitable for celiac disease patients (children or adults).

It has ingredients like Corn Flour, Sugar, Peanut Butter (Peanuts, Dextrose, Hydrogenated Cottonseed and Rapeseed Oil, Salt), Oat Flour, Rice Flour, Palm and Coconut Oil, Salt, Caramel Color, Reduced Iron, Niacinamide, BHT (to preserve freshness), Thiamin Mononitrate, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride*, Riboflavin*, Folic Acid*.

Is Great Value Peanut Butter Gluten free?

The gluten-free claim on Creamy Peanut Butter’s food label isn’t present. While the ingredients mentioned on the jar indicate that it is gluten-free, cross-contamination is possible within the production plant.

Ingredients in it are peanut, sugar, less than 2% hydrogenated oils, cotton seed oil, soybean oil, rapeseed oil, dextrose, salt, monoglycerides, molasses & dietary fiber. It can be consumed by individuals who’re gluten allergic.

Start with a small scoop, then observe whether any allergic reaction occurs or not. If it occurs, then stop consuming & if not, keep enjoying.

Is Kraft peanut butter Gluten free?

Yes, as per its ingredient list, it is fit for gluten allergic individuals. Peanut butter from Kraft is gluten-free, and wheat, barley, and rye are some of the non-gluten ingredients.

Even though Kraft claims their original peanut butter taste is gluten-free, they lack certification. However, if you insist on buying from Kraft, stick to the original tasting peanut butter.

Ingredients present in it:- Select Roasted Peanuts, Soybean Oil, Corn Maltodextrin, Sugar, Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Cotton Seed And Rapeseed Oil), Salt, Mono- And Diglycerides, (I005l)


Although we have discussed gluten-containing meals and gluten-free peanut butter, there may be items that try to deceive you with the gluten-free label.

Peanut butter is one of the world’s most well-known and popular nut spreads. It can have a creamy or crunchy texture and a distinct flavor.

It is high in vitamins and minerals, has a moderate amount of protein, and contains heart-healthy fats, making it a nutritious complement to any diet.

Although peanut butter is naturally gluten-free, cross-contamination can occur during manufacture, as with any pre-packaged food product.

If a consumer wants to be sure they’re getting a genuinely gluten-free product, they should always read labels and look for products labeled gluten-free. Before purchasing a product, check for the package and read the ingredients carefully.Most peanut butter is gluten-free in its natural form, but sometimes it is cross-contaminated with flavor and additives which could be gluten components and should be avoided if you are gluten allergic.