You may be wondering, “Is couscous gluten free? The answer is No, it does contain gluten. The good thing is that we’ve got a range of gluten free couscous alternatives covered if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. We have also listed some of the best gluten-free couscous available on the market that you can enjoy.
What is Couscous?
Contrary to a common misconception, couscous is not a grain or a seed; rather, it is a type of pasta produced from a dry mixture of semolina and water that is rolled into very small irregular pieces.
Every day, a bowl of semolina was stirred and swirled as the water was progressively added to the mixture.
Couscous is a starch, and as such, it is frequently the major component of most North African meals where meat is uncommon.
Couscous, like rice and potatoes, is a blank canvas that can take on whatever spices you wish to add. Being inspired by cooking and ingredients is all about mixing things up and creating something new.
What is Couscous made of?
Couscous is made entirely of semolina. Semolina is the term given to flour made from durum wheat.
Durum wheat is a particularly hard wheat that contains more protein than all-purpose wheat flour.
Semolina is a light golden-yellow flour that provides couscous a nuttier flavour than all-purpose flour.
Is Couscous Healthy?
- Whole-grain couscous is high in fiber. Fiber is beneficial in a variety of ways. It can prevent blood sugar spikes and keep you satisfied for longer.
- It can also help lower cholesterol, lowering your risk of heart disease.
- Fiber can help prevent digestive problems like constipation because it pushes food swiftly through your digestive tract.
- A higher-fiber diet may also reduce your risk of developing intestinal and breast cancer.
Is Couscous Gluten free?
Unfortunately, couscous is not gluten free. Because couscous is made primarily or entirely of durum wheat semolina flour, Semolina is a byproduct of the production of wheat flour.
It is the coarse flour that remains after the wheat grains have been ground. When using couscous, take into consideration that it is made from wheat and hence is not gluten-free.
Couscous, on the other hand, is a form of wheat pasta. This signifies that it includes the gluten protein, which should be avoided by persons who are gluten sensitive or have Celiac Disease.
Is Israeli couscous gluten free?
Israeli couscous, also known as pearl couscous, is roasted rather than dried, unlike standard couscous. Traditionally, Israeli couscous is not gluten free. However, there are gluten-free corn-based variations available.
Israeli couscous is a popular variety because it is easier to prepare, chewier, and larger than standard couscous. It is particularly strong in fiber, making it a preferred couscous variation among vegans and those on a strict diet.
Is Moroccan couscous gluten free?
Ideally, Moroccan couscous is not gluten free, but nowadays, corn meal-based Moroccan is also available on the market, which is gluten-free and makes it suitable for celiac disease individuals.
Gluten free Couscous Alternative
The majority of couscous on the market is produced from semolina or durum wheat. As a result, most people will probably find it easier to use a gluten free couscous substitute that can be similarly incorporated into recipes.
Among the gluten-free substitutes for couscous are:
1. Quinoa: – Quinoa is naturally gluten-free and is often well accepted by gluten-sensitive people. It is an excellent substitute for gluten-containing grains. It is a nutrient-dense whole grain that has more antioxidants than other gluten-free grains.
2. Sorghum: – Sorghum does not contain gluten. Sorghum is a great gluten-free grain substitute. It is a nutrient-dense whole grain with more protein, iron, and numerous other vitamins and minerals than quinoa.
3. Millet :- Yes, millet is gluten-free in its natural form. These small-seeded grasses are collected for grains and used in a wide range of ways. It is also crushed into flour and used on its own or in gluten-free flour blends to make gluten-free bread and bakery items.
4. Brown Rice: – All natural rice varieties, whether white, brown, or wild, are gluten-free. Natural rice is an excellent choice for those who are sensitive to or allergic to gluten, a protein present in wheat, barley, and rye, as well as those who have celiac disease, an autoimmune illness caused by gluten.
5. Buckwheat:- Buckwheat does not contain gluten. Buckwheat, often known as beech wheat or kasha, contains no wheat or gluten. It’s a versatile grain that can be steamed and eaten instead of rice, or processed into fine flour. Buckwheat is high in fiber and a good source of protein.
6. Rice Cauliflower:– This item does not contain gluten or any ingredients related to wheat or its derived products. It is gluten-free and one of the best alternatives for gluten-allergic individuals.
5 Best Gluten free Couscous
You can get various gluten-free couscous products on the market. Some of the best options are available below:
1. Tesco:- It is a gluten-free couscous. It is made of maize flour. It has a negligible amount of salt and sugar, but it has allergens like nuts and peanuts.
2. Streit’s:- Streit’s, a kosher food firm, makes gluten-free Israeli couscous. Potato and tapioca starch, potato flakes, and egg whites are all included in the product. It’s accessible online and at certain kosher food stores across the country.
3. Clear Spring Corn Couscous:- It is a gluten-free corn-based couscous suitable for celiac disease patients made up of corn, but traces of soy can be found. It has a similar physical appearance to wheat couscous, but the taste is different.
4. Gefen Israeli Couscous:- It’s a delicious gluten-free couscous that can be used for preparing gluten-free based meals. It tastes amazing when cooked with vegetables. It can also be added to veggie-cereals and mixed salads. It has 0 gm of trans fat, 0 gm of sugar, 0 gm of dietary fiber, and 5 gm of saturated fat.
4. Lieber’s Tricolor Couscous:- It is a gluten-free, tricolour couscous made up of potato starch, flakes, salt, potato flour, palm oil, whole eggs, spinach, parsley flakes, and natural flavor. It is one of the best options under the category of gluten-free couscous. It has 0 gm of sugar, no cholesterol, and only 1 gm of protein. It gives you 160 calories per serving.
How to Cook Couscous?
Learn how to make excellent couscous every time! It only takes 15-20 minutes and a few ingredients. Follow these simple and easy steps mentioned below to enjoy tempting and healthy couscous.
Step 1: Boil broth/stock /water
Step 2:-On the other hand, add olive oil [ you can add any oil of your choice, but couscous cooked in olive oil tastes amazing, so go for olive oil.] to a frying pan
Step 3:-Add couscous to the pan and let it cook for 4–6 minutes.
Step 4: If you want, you can add vegetables of your choice too. If you like crunchy vegetables, then add them after adding the broth/stock/water, and if you belong to that group of people who love to eat fully cooked vegetables that can be easily mashed with the finger, then add the vegetable cooking couscous.
Step 5:-After adding vegetables, add herbs like parsley leaves and spring onion leaves and let it cook for 5 minutes.
Then add spices like salt, turmeric powder, black pepper powder, and red chilli powder.
Step 7:- After adding spices add the boiled broth/stock/water and cook it for 15-20 minutes
Step 8:-After 20 minutes, turn the flame off and serve hot! Enjoy!
So I hope now it is very clear whether couscous is gluten free or not. And what are the various alternatives available for gluten-allergic people?
Traditional or regular couscous is manufactured from semolina wheat and is hence not gluten-free or safe for celiacs or anyone with gluten sensitivity.
While couscous is out, various alternatives can be used in place of couscous for your favourite recipes. Farro, quinoa, and cauliflower ‘rice’ can all be used to make delicious couscous-based dishes.
Do you have any other couscous-related questions? Please leave a comment below!
Read More: Is Peanut Butter Gluten free